Named after the explorers Bass and Flinders who first sailed along the Tamar River into George Town back in 1798, the Bass & Flinders Centre is now one of the town’s most visited attractions. The museum offers a fascinating introduction to Tasmania’s maritime history, telling the story of its namesake’s expedition through multi-media exhibitions and displaying an impressive array of restored ships, maps and artifacts, dating back to the 18th century.
The Centre’s star attraction is a full-size replica of the Norfolk, the ship on which Bass and Flinders sailed into Tasmania, and visitors can even step aboard to explore the captain’s quarters and peek into the crew kitchens. Additional highlights include replica of the ‘Elizabeth’, the whale boat rowed around Tasmania by James Kelly; a banana boat surfboard; and a pair of racing fours.
The Bass & Flinders Centre is located on Elizabeth Street in George Town and is open daily from 10am-4pm. Adult admission is $10.